Alafair Burke, cr Deborah Copaken Kogan 2019.JPG

"Burke's female characters are always very involving, with big, strong voices."
— Gillian Flynn

coming
january 11th 2021!

The disappearance of a young woman leaves her best friend reeling and an NYPD homicide detective digging into her own past in this twisty mystery about the power of female friendships.

“Alafair Burke's latest propulsive thrill-ride is a suspenseful, twisty mystery about memory, friendship and secrets. A page-turner of the highest order.” -Laura Dave, author of The Last Thing He Told Me

Click here for more ....

Amazon Logo.jpg
BAM.jpg
Barnes and Noble Logo.jpg
Indie Bound Logo.jpg

“From one of our greatest contemporary mystery writers comes another superb nail-biting thriller. Alafair Burke uses an intricately layered and twisty plot to ensnare us and then pulls us in for a close examination of intimacy and community. I devoured it, from its riveting first scene to the shocking last page.”
—Angie Kim, internationally bestselling author of Miracle Creek

From Alafair Burke—New York Times bestselling author of the runaway hit, The Wife— comes another twisty tale of domestic noir. When a prominent Manhattan lawyer is murdered, two estranged sisters—one the dead man’s widow, the other his ex—must set aside mistrust and old resentments ... but can they escape their past?

Keep your enemies close and your sister closer.

A Best Book of the Year: Washington Post, Sun Sentinel

Amazon Logo.jpg
BAM.jpg
Barnes and Noble Logo.jpg
Indie Bound Logo.jpg

"Burke reinforces her place in the top rank of suspense writers"
— Publishers Weekly

(starred review for FIND ME)

HIS SCANDAL

HER SECRET

A stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

"A subtle, sneaky, emotionally complex, and utterly addictive novel of psychological suspense, THE WIFE delivers on all fronts."

- Lisa Scottoline

A Boston Globe Best Book of 2018

A Sun-Sentinel Best Mystery Book of 2018

A Crime Reads Best Novel of 2018

Amazon Logo.jpg
BAM.jpg
Barnes and Noble Logo.jpg
Indie Bound Logo.jpg

BOOKS

Alafair is a New York Times bestselling author of 14 crime novels, including The Ex, The Wife, and The Better Sister, and two series—one featuring NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher, and the other, Portland, Oregon, prosecutor Samantha Kincaid. Her books have been translated into more than a dozen languages.

To read more about the books click here.

ABOUT

Alafair Burke is the New York Times, Edgar Award nominated author of twenty crime novels. Published in more than twenty languages, her books have been featured on “Best Book” lists from the Today Show, Entertainment Weekly, People, O (Oprah Magazine), The Boston Globe, Washington Post, Sun Sentinel, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and numerous other outlets.  

 

She has been called “a genius for plot” and “one of our greatest contemporary mystery writers.”   She is the current President of Mystery Writers of America and the first woman of color to be elected to that position.

 

A graduate of Stanford Law School and a former prosecutor, Alafair is now a professor at Hofstra Law School, where she teaches criminal law and procedure. She lives in New York City and East Hampton with her husband and two beloved dogs.

To read more about Alafair click here.

Alafair Burke w Double, cr Sean Simpson.jpg